Amy Fritsche © 2013  |  All Rights Reserved

Amy Fritsche earned her Master of Fine Arts in Musical Theatre from San Diego State University graduating Phi Kappa Phi. She earned a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Acting from the University of Southern California where she received the James and Nony Doolittle Award. She has also studied at Yale University, American Academy of Dramatic Arts and Beverly Hills Playhouse. Amy has taught acting, directing, and musical theatre at Southeast Missouri State University, acting at San Diego State University and The La Jolla Playhouse, and dance at numerous dance studios in Arizona and California. 

She is currently an Associate Professor of Acting, Movement, and Musical Theatre at Kent State University.  She was the winner of the 2020 Distinguished Teaching Award.

She has directed a number of plays and musicals including Irena’s Vow, Heathers, All Shook Up, The Mystery of Edwin Drood, Anything Goes, Into The Woods, Lend Me a Tenor, Hot Mikado, The Crucible, and Legally Blonde.  She gave a TedX on "Theater as a medium of Social Change" through the lens of Irena's Vow.

She has worked with Fox Animations Studios, toured nationally with Annie and internationally in the world premier of Best Intentions in London, England and at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe.  She performed at Cleveland Play House in the world premier of These Mortal Hosts,  The Diary of Anne Frank, and the reading of Little Row Boat or, Conjecture.  Regionally, she has performed Phoenix Theater, Arkansas Shakespeare Theatre, CATCO Theatre, Cleveland Public Theatre, Dobama Theatre, Porthouse Theatre, Mamai Theatre and Odyssey Theater in Los Angeles.  Favorite roles include, Next to Normal (Diana), Arcadia (Hannah Jarvis), Superior Donuts (Officer Randy), 9 to 5 (Violet), As You Like It (Rosalind), A Little Night Music (Countess Charlotte), Annie (Grace Farrell), Chapter Two (Jenny) and Violet (Violet).  She received the 2015 Cleveland Critics Circle Theater Award for Best Actress in a Musical for her portrayal of Violet and the 2018 Cleveland Critics Circle Theater Award for Best Actress in a Musical for her portrayal of Diana in Next To Normal.  She is a proud member of SAG/AFTRA, AGVA, and AEA.